home > music, song & dance - other email 

Music, Song & Dance -


cogar - ireland's provinces
Here we have compiled a list of musical centres and other resources available to musicians throughout Ireland. Please note that the archives of traditional music mentioned below, while of great value to those with a developed interest in traditional music, are not really suitable for use by the general public. The information here has been grouped according to the province in which these resources are based.

Historically, Ireland has been divided into the four provinces of Connaught - Connacht, Leinster - Laighean, Munster - Mumhan and Ulster - Uladh. Connaught is located in the west of Ireland, Leinster in the east, Munster in the south and Ulster in the north.


  Connaught - Connacht
- Ceoláras Coleman, Gurteen, Co. Sligo  
  Ceoláras Coleman includes a music school, theatre, and a heritage centre.
  full details here

  Leinster - Laighean
- CEOL, Smithfield Village, Smithfield, Dublin 7  
  This is a new high-tech Irish Traditional Music Interpretative Centre. Open all-year round.
  full details here
- Music Archive, Fr. Murphy Centre, Boolavogue, Co. Wexford  
  This centre, commemorating the 1798 rising, houses the regional archive of Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Éireann, the society of traditional music in Ireland.
- Archive opened upon request.
  full details here
- National Museum of Decorative Arts and History, Collins Barracks, Dublin 7  
  full details here

  Munster - Mumhan
- Cois na hAbhna, Galway Road, Ennis, Co. Clare  
  This is a regional branch and archive of Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Éireann, the society of traditional music in Ireland. Visitors who wish to use the archive should contact the centre in advance.
  full details here
  home > music, song & dance - other  email